TWENTIETH-CENTURY MUSIC - 1985 [Vol 10, 1st Ed]


Create Wishlist


Twentieth-Century Music - Volume 10 of The Garland Library of the History of Western Music

edited by Ellen Rosand 

with Essays by: Milton Babbitt, Alban Berg, Arthur Berger, Pierre Boulez, John Cage, Edward T. Cone, Robert Craft and William Harkins, Lawrence Gushee, Erno Lendvai, Robert P. Morgan, George Perle, Laszlo Somfai, and Richard Swift

FIRST EDITION, Volume 10. New York & London: Garland Publishing, Inc., 1985. 

Hardback is overall in VERY GOOD+ condition.

  • ISBN: 0824074599
  • Volume features blue cloth covers, and gilt lettering on rounded spine.
  • Book displays minor overall wear and aging.
  • Covers exhibit minor overall rubbing, with some rare white scuffs, more frequent along foot edge of front.
  • Spine displays slight bumping of ends.
  • Binding is secure.
  • Fold-out score is intact and well preserved, showing minimal edgewear.
  • Pages preceding and following fold-out (166-167) display light foxing along upper edge. 
  • Interior is minimally toned.
  • Inside pages are free of writing and intentional marks.
  • Detached errata page shows some foxing along fore edge, as well as a foot corner crease. (See photos)
  • Textblock edges exhibit significant foxing along head, and minimal to front and foot. (See photos)
  • Book may exhibit additional minor signs of age or wear.
  • SC20200123

344 pages. 8.75 x 11.25 inches.

Volume features blue cloth covers, as well as gilt lettering on rounded spine.

Book is illustrated with scores in text, as well as full-page B&W photographs. Includes essays by various writers, with original page numbering, in addition to numbering in volume. Includes a fold-out score as well as an errata on detached page. Book features essays in French and German.

This volume represents an overview of the music of the twentieth century that is revealing and fascinating. Examples taken from specific pieces of music, among the most celebrated of their time, are paired with interesting highlights of writings or letters by the composers, and historic photographs of great value. The various essays give a vast panoramic view of the music of the twentieth century, why it is so different, and how it broke free from the traditions of the past centuries. It explains why some composers like Schoenberg are so hard to understand, and brilliantly achieves the difficult task of tracing the structure of the most complex pieces.

This volume is part of a collection of fourteen volumes on the history of Western Music. Get three volumes in one set! Volume 9: Nineteenth-Century Music and 14: Approaches to Tonal Analysis are available with the present volume to be bought as a set.

EDITION POINTS: First Edition.

AS IS! Please see photos. More photos available upon request.

International first class shipping includes a handling charge to cover insurance.

Domestic orders over $250 include a handling charge to cover signature confirmation.

#panoplybooks #rarebooks #bookboutique #collectiblebooks #antiquebooks #vintagebooks #bookstore

We invite you to view our Shipping & Returns policies, or to contact us with any questions.

Shipping: Shipping rate calculated at checkout


leave a review